Sustainable Living: Big Picture, Baby Goals (Week 3)

Spring has suddenly sprung, which has swiveled my sustainable priorities toward planting. In keeping to this week’s goal, I spent a lot of time sifting through The Homemade Pantry. I soon realized that I need to establish a household infrastructure from which to prepare, manage, and store our homemade stock: a variety of glass storage containers, some new cooking tools, a chest freezer, and most importantly, as much homegrown food as possible. After all, I decided I want to make my own granola, popcorn snacks, vanilla extract, toaster pastries, cereal bars, frozen pizzas, ketchup, salsa, salad dressings, and mayo. That list is but the beginning of a longer list of foods I want to make myself. Thus, next week’s goal is to decide what I will grow and how I will grow it.

I continue to be amazed at the inspiration flooding in from unexpected sources. A magical phenomenon emerges when one sets her intentions in a positive direction. For me, this intention-setting started last summer when I visited Peaceful Hearts Ranch in Temecula, California. It’s strange that riding a wild mustang can teach us about the strength of our intentions, but it’s true nonetheless. From Cochina the horse and Kedra the trainer, I learned that my intentions are strong, but my patience is weak, as demonstrated through my breathing. My impatience causes anxiety in the horse, which disrupts the path toward my intentions. I just can’t get over what a wonderful experience that was, so I reflect on it often. It brought me to my current mindset of setting manageable goals, breathing deep and steady until little by little my lifestyle is transformed. BUT I never anticipated how much good company I would encounter along the way!

In addition to the people I carry with me spiritually (like my brother the vegan, daughter the yogi/minimalist, and others too numerous to list), I encounter new people every week traveling parallel journeys. The latter are also too numerous to name, and in sticking to manageability (lest I become overexcited and have to take a lap around the block to calm myself), I want to mention one such encounter from yesterday. One of my students (hello and thank you!) approached me before class with a book, The Jungle Effect by Daphne Miller, M.D., containing everything I need to create my daily nutrient checklist I mentioned in a previous post. Prior to learning of my weekly goals and blog, this student spoke to me during a topic workshop about writing her research paper on planning for a sustainable life. (The Law of Attraction is truly amazing, isn’t it?!) Although I can’t take credit for her initial interest in the topic, I wonder what the effect of my enthusiasm for it will be. Her purpose is a noble one: why not learn everything I can about sustainable living now, so I can apply it throughout my life. If I’d only had the knowledge, direction, and maturity at that age (20 years ago), where would I be today?! I was so out of tune then, and so the law of attraction was not working for me. But now, to be in the right place at the right time for at least one young person to start now and take it all the way through, and to consider the people she will influence!!! Aaaahh! (I think I’ll take that lap now!) This experience fits right in with my intention to make young people (including students) my number one priority and my intention to live sustainably. Covering multiple purposes simultaneously is so rewarding!

As for my weekly goal, I’ve made some decisions about infrastructure that I will work on in the coming weeks. With garage sale season upon me, I will pick up as many secondhand containers and cooking tools as I can. I will look into purchasing a chest freezer. I started saving (and asked others to save) egg shells in which I plan to start my seeds. My goal for this week is to decide what and how to plant. Having the added complication of two households at the moment (which will be a topic of another post), the planning is not simple.

Thanks for reading and circulating the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

